Council of Arts Education Presidents


Retain Arts Teachers and Arts Education Advocacy Strategies

The Council of Arts Education Presidents (CAEP) first convened in November of 2002 and regularly assembles the president, president elect and past president of the SC Art Education Association, the SC Dance Association, SC Music Educators Association, SC Theatre Association, and SC Alliance for Arts Education. In addition to sharing association updates and materials, CAEP works on initiatives such as the recruitment and retention of arts teachers, arts education advocacy strategies, and the creation and continued updating of a unified position paper on arts education entitled, “Where We Stand on Arts Education.”

Palmetto State Arts Education

Larry Barnfield, Past President
Kerry Kuhlkin-Hornsby, President
Joshua Powell, President-Elect
Eve Walling-Wohlford, Executive Director

View Website

SC Art Education Association

Catherine Campbell, Past President
Cynthia Hudson, President
Cindy Riddle, President-Elect

View Website

SC Dance Association

Kristin Tillotson, Past President
Shannon Bradberry, President
Jennifer Coffey, President-Elect

View Website

SC Music Educators Association

Lisa Rayner, Past President
Martin Dickey, President
Michael Moore, President-Elect

View Website

SC Theatre Association

Harry Culpepper, Jr., Past President
Marc McIntyre, President
Will Ragland, President-Elect

View Website

ABC Partners CAEP Members

SC Arts Commission

David Platts
Executive Director

Ashley Kerns Brown
Arts Education Program Director


SC Department of Education

Education Associate for the Visual and Performing Arts

Arts in Basic Curriculum Project

Kim Wilson


Kelly Hall
Program Specialist